Ada’s House Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall

The Ada’s House Novels are a trilogy of Amish Fiction novels by Cindy Woodsmall.

All I can say about them is this, as I was finishing one I was buying the next one. My local Faith Mission shop had them on sale and I bought the first one due to it being on sale as I wasn’t sure as to whether or not I would like them. I had previously read a couple of Cindy Woodsmall’s novels and enjoyed them but it could have, like any other book, been a miss that happened rather than a hit!

I give this series of books 5-star

purely because I couldn’t put them down. The story had me needing the next book, it was a necessity in my eyes!!!

Book 1


Raised in foster care and now the widowed mother of a little girl, Cara Moore struggles against poverty, fear, and a relentless stalker. When a trail of memories leads Cara and Lori out of New York City toward an Amish community, she follows every lead, eager for answers and a fresh start. She discovers that long-held secrets about her family history ripple beneath the surface of Dry Lake, Pennsylvania, and it’s no place for an outsider. But one Amish man, Ephraim Mast, dares to fulfill the command he believes that he received from God-“”Be me to her””- despite how it threatens his way of life.
Completely opposite of the hard, untrusting Cara, Ephraim’s sister Deborah also finds her dreams crumbling when the man she has pledged to build a life with begins withdrawing from Deborah and his community, including his mother, Ada Stoltzfus. Can the run-down house that Ada envisions transforming unite them toward a common purpose-or push Mahlon away forever? While Ephraim is trying to do what he believes is right, will he be shunned and lose everything-including the guarded single mother who simply longs for a better life?

Product details

  • Paperback: 1 pages
  • Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah; 1 edition (1 Oct. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1400073960
  • ISBN-13: 978-1400073962

Book 2


Lena Kauffman is a young Old Order Amish schoolteacher who has dealt all her life with attention raised by a noticeable birthmark on her cheek. Having learned to move past the stares and whispers, Lena channels her zest for living into her love of teaching. But tensions mount as she is challenged to work with a rebellious young man and deal with several crises at the schoolhouse that threaten her other students. Her lack of submission and use of ideas that don’t line up with the Old Ways strengthen the school board’s case as they begin to believe that Lena is behind all the trouble.

One member of the school board, Grey Graber, feels trapped by his own stifling circumstances. His wife, Elsie, has shut him out of her life, and he doesn’t know how long he can continue to live as if nothing is wrong. As the two finally come to a place of working toward a better marriage, tragedy befalls their family.

Lena and Grey have been life-long friends, but their relationship begins to crumble amidst unsettling deceptions, propelling each of them to finally face their own secrets. Can they both find a way past their losses and discover the strength to build a new bridge?

Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Waterbrook Press (1 Oct. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1400073979
  • ISBN-13: 978-1400073979

Book 3


Reeling from an unexpected betrayal, can Sylvia find relief from the echoes of her past…or will they shape her future forever?

Although Sylvia Fisher recognizes that most Old Order Amish women her age spend their hours managing a household and raising babies, she has just one focus—tending and nurturing the herd on her family’s dairy farm. But when a dangerous connection with an old beau forces her to move far from home, she decides to concentrate on a new start and pour her energy into reviving another family’s debt-ridden farm.

After months in rehab, Aaron Blank returns home to sell his Daed’s failing farm and move his parents into an easier lifestyle. Two things stand in his way: the father who stubbornly refuses to recognize that Aaron has changed and the determined new farmhand his parents love like a daughter. Her influence on Aaron’s parents could ruin his plans to escape the burdens of farming and build a new life.

Can Aaron and Sylvia find common ground? Or will their unflinching efforts toward opposite goals blur the bigger picture— a path to forgiveness, glimpses of grace, and the promise of love.

Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Waterbrook (9 Aug. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1400073987
  • ISBN-13: 978-1400073986


These books not only can be bought individually but are now available as a 3 in 1 book available on Amazon and called Hopes Crossing: The Complete Ada’s House Trilogy.

I can not recommend these books enough!!  Hope you enjoy them as much as I have!


2 thoughts on “Ada’s House Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s